John Romant's Technology Blog

If it's technology, I want to know about it.

Social Media – Which New Platforms Are Worth The Time?

YouTube, Twitter, Facebook,  maybe a little Stumble Upon and a few others, rinse and repeat.

After almost 5 years of social media growth, the collective “Social Media Box” has been defined by Twitter, Facebook, Youtube, with support from “discovery/auto-surfing made pretty” sites like Stumble upon etc.   A picture is worth 1000 words so give me a couple minutes to pump out a pic to express myself… see below:

Trapped in a Social Media Box

Considering that Clients have deadlines, budgets and their own personal needs, there seems to be little time to explore new social media platforms.  Actually, I feel burned out on trying out new social media platforms due to the fact that most “New” social media platforms are just a newly dressed knockoff of Facebook, YouTube or twitter.   I have no patience to help someone make a quick buck in the social media “game” by patronizing every new “social media” platform.

I will say that Diaspora has me hopeful.  If Diaspora allows social media crackheads like myself, access to the guts and brain of the platform, I am sure the next phase of the social media revolution will be kicked in high gear.

Hope is still here, but I’m cautious.

If anyone else is feeling like me, I am sure another social media revolution is coming.  It’s time to take this Social Media Experience to the next level.

God Bless Social Media!

2 responses to “Social Media – Which New Platforms Are Worth The Time?

  1. Michael September 14, 2010 at 9:36 am

    I started to use a new platform called http://chocobrain.com
    I like that they’re already applying user oriented privacy protection. See e.g.: http://www.chocobrain.com/content/chocoBRAIN-Privacy-See-our-philosophy/38CFBF5A94E511DF82C23627CF5951C2
    What do you think about it?

    • Romant September 16, 2010 at 4:20 am

      checking it out chocobrain.com right now. It’s interesting enough to keep me plugging away at it. Too bad you can’t embed video though. I would say they need to add a “VodPod.com” type of component to the site. I personally would like to have HTML as opposed to rich text. I’m still playing around though. I would say the deal maker for chocobrain.com would be its “search indexing power”. If the pages created on chocobrain.com are indexing high on Google, or any other major Search Engine, then heck yeah! I have the timer set on how long it will take for my chocobrain.com page to index on google. Thanks for the heads-up!

Leave a Reply

